Bliss What A Melon overnight mask

Beauty

Remember when Bliss used to be sold exclusively at Sephora? I do. And then I started to find more and more products at Marshall’s while Sephora had a constant sale on them. Recently they’ve rebranded and can now be found at Target and Ulta.

I recently picked up their What A Melon overnight mask because 1) I adore minimal packaging and 2) it seemed like it may be a dupe for Glow Recipe’s Watermelon Glow sleeping mask. I’ve been wanting to try the Glow Recipe but it’s $20 for an ounce and $45 for 2.7. Kinda steep. Bliss’ mask is much more reasonable at $12.99 (at Target) for 1.7 ounces.

Bliss claims that the overnight mask will bring stressed out skin “back to life” and will remove dead skin cells and toxins. I don’t know about the toxins part but the exfoliation reminds me of Glow Recipe’s so why not try it out?

I’ve been using it for the past week and a half. Directions say to use it two or three times a week and to use a thick layer. I decided to do two thin layers since my skin absorbs product better that way and kept the application at 3 times weekly. The smell is reminiscent of watermelon candy but not overly sickeningly sweet. It absorbs fairly quickly but will leave your skin feeling a bit tacky. If you have dehydrated or dry skin I wouldn’t recommend using just this at night. It left my skin feeling a bit tight (I have an oil slick of a t-zone and dry cheeks) until I topped it with an oil ~15 minutes after applying the mask.

I have seen a reduction in redness and my dry spots seem to have gone down quite a bit. I have also seen leftover redness from monthly acne heal quite a bit faster. I can’t say if it actually exfoliates or not (nothing in the ingredients list is jumping out at me) but so far I’ve been really enjoying this overnight mask since I have seen some decent results.

If you’ve been on the fence about Glow Recipe’s version and don’t have an aversion to added fragrance i would definitely give Bliss’ version a shot! It won’t break the bank and is fairly soothing.

Leave a comment